South Africa

Here is South Africa’s new cabinet

Cyril Ramaphosa

President Cyril Ramaphosa announced South Africa’s new national executive during a televised address on 30 Jule 2024.

This announcement followed the President’s election by the National Assembly on Friday, 14 June 2024, and Ramaphosa’s inauguration on Wednesday, 19 June 2024.

The new cabinet is South Africa’s seventh Democratic Administration as a Government of National Unity comprising diverse political parties.

The new cabinet followed weeks of negotiations between the ANC and DA, the country’s two largest political parties.

The ANC lost its outright majority in the 2024 national elections. It gained 40% of the vote, ending three decades of dominance.

The DA received 22%, followed by Jacob Zuma’s uMkhonto we Sizwe (MK) party on 14.6%, and Julius Malema’s EFF on 9.5%.

Initial discussions focussed on a coalition between the ANC and DA. However, strong resistance from the ANC’s alliance partners changed the situation.

The ANC then opted for a Government of National Unity (GNU), which includes cooperation between the executive and legislature.

“At this historic juncture, we must act to ensure stability and peace, tackling the triple challenges of poverty, unemployment and inequality,” the ANC said.

It listed the foundational principles of the new Government of National Unity to which all parties that wanted to be part of it must commit.

Many parties joined the ANC’s GNU, including the Democratic Alliance (DA), Patriotic Alliance (PA), Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), and Vryheidsfront Plus (FF+).

Other GNU partners include GOOD, the Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC), the United Democratic Movement (UDM), Rise Mzansi, UAT, and Al Jama-ah.

There were two notable parties which did not join the new government of national unity – MK and the EFF.

The EFF recently said it would only join the GNU if the DA and the Freedom Front Plus were excluded from the union.

The MK Party has refused to work with the current leadership of the ANC, including newly elected president Cyril Ramaphosa.

MK leader Jacob Zuma described the GNU as “nonsense”, saying it is a “white-led unholy alliance between the DA and the ANC of President Cyril Ramaphosa”.

“It is sponsored by big business, and it’s for the benefit of the markets and not the people,” Zuma said.

Cyril Ramaphosa’s new cabinet

President Ramaphosa’s new cabinet announcement came after an extended negotiation period with fights over prominent cabinet positions.

At some points during the negotiations, discussions broke down, centring around the Minister of Trade and Industry position.

The ANC reportedly withdrew this offer after initially agreeing to it. Ramaphosa wanted to switch that portfolio to Tourism.

The DA did not back down, threatening to leave the Government of National Unity unless the original offer was reinstated.

However, on Friday, news emerged that Ramaphosa and Steenhuisen were nearing an agreement over positions in the executive.

On Saturday evening, news emerged that the deadlock had been broken and that the two main parties had reached an agreement.

On Sunday afternoon, the Presidency announced that Ramaphosa would announce a new national executive on 30 June 2024.

The table below shows President Cyril Ramaphosa’s new cabinet.

Deputy PresidentPaul MashatileANC
Minister in the PresidencyKhumbudzo NtshavheniANC
Planning, Monitoring and EvaluationMaropene RamokgopaANC
ElectricityKgosientso RamokgopaANC
Women, Youth and Persons with DisabilitiesSindisiwe ChikungaANC
AgricultureJohn SteenhuisenDA
Basic EducationSiviwe GwarubeDA
Communication and TelecommunicationsSolly MalatsiDA
Cooperative Governance and Traditional AffairsVelinkosi HlabisaIFP
Defence and Military VeteransAngie MotshekgaANC
Employment and LabourNomakhosazana MethANC
FinanceEnoch GodongwanaANC
Forestry, Fisheries and Environmental AffairsDion GeorgeDA
HealthAaron MotsoalediANC
Higher EducationNobuhle NkabaneANC
Home AffairsLeon SchreiberDA
Human SettlementsMmamoloko KubayiANC
International Relations and CooperationRonald LamolaANC
Justice and Constitutional DevelopmentThembi NkadimengANC
Mineral Resources and EnergyGwede MantasheANC
PoliceSenzo MchunuANC
Public Service and AdministrationMzamo ButheleziIFP
Public WorksDean MacphersonDA
Small Business DevelopmentStella Ndabeni-AbrahamsANC
Social DevelopmentSisisi TolasheANC
Sports and Recreation, Arts and CultureGayton McKenziePA
TourismPatricia de LilleANC
Trade and Industry and Economic DevelopmentParks TauANC
TransportBarbara CreecyANC
Water and SanitationPemmy MajodinaANC
Science, Technology, and InnovationBlade NzimandeSACP
Correctional ServicesPieter GroenewaldFF Plus
Land Reform and Rural DevelopmentMzwanele NyhontsoPAC
PositionDeputy MinisterParty
Deputy Minister in the PresidencyNonceba Mhlauli
Kenneth Morolong
Minister in the Presidency responsible for Planning, Monitoring and EvaluationSeiso MohaiANC
Minister in the Presidency: Women and Youth and DisabilitiesMmapaseka Steve LetsikeANC
Land ReformChupu Stanley MathabathaANC
Basic EducationReginah MhauleANC
Communication and TelecommunicationsMondli GungubeleANC
Cooperative Governance and Traditional AffairsDickson Masemola
Zolile Burns-Ncamashe
Correctional ServicesLindiwe NtshalintshaliANC
Defence and Military VeteransBanto Holomiso
Richard Mkhungo
Electricity and EnergySamantha GrahamDA
Employment and LabourJomo Sibiya
Phumzile Mgcina
FinanceDavid Masondo
Ashor Sarupen
Forestry and Fisheries and Environmental AffairsNarend Singh
Bernice Swarts
HealthJoe PhaahlaANC
Higher Education, Science and TechnologyButi Manamela
Mimmy Gondwe
Home AffairsNjabulo NzuzaANC
Human Settlements, Water and SanitationTandi MahambehlalaANC
International Relations and CooperationAlvin Botes
Thandi Moraka
Justice and Constitutional DevelopmentAndries NelANC
Mineral Resources and EnergyJudith Nemadzinga-TshabalalaANC
PolicePolly Boshielo
Cassel Mathale
Public Service and AdministrationPinky KekanaANC
Public WorksSihle ZikalalaANC
Small Business DevelopmentJane SitholeDA
Social DevelopmentGanief HendricksAl Jama-ah
Sports and Recreation, Arts and CulturePeace MabeANC
TourismMaggie SotyuANC
Trade and Industry and Economic DevelopmentZuko Godlimpi
Andrew Whitfield
TransportMkhuleko HlengwaIFP
Water and SanitationDavid Mahlobo
Isaac Seitlholo
AgricultureRosemary Nokuzola CapaANC
Science, Technology and InnovationNomalungelo GinaANC


Top JSE indices